Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

One Goal

ebook
In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state—and ultimately national—glory.
When thousands of Somali refugees resettled in Lewiston, Maine, a struggling, overwhelmingly white town, longtime residents grew uneasy. Then the mayor wrote a letter asking Somalis to stop coming, which became a national story. While scandal threatened to subsume the town, its high school's soccer coach integrated Somali kids onto his team, and their passion began to heal old wounds. Taking readers behind the tumult of this controversial team-and onto the pitch where the teammates become state champions and achieved a vital sense of understanding-ONE GOAL is a timely story about overcoming the prejudices that divide us.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Hachette Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: February 27, 2018

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780316396561
  • File size: 19732 KB
  • Release date: February 27, 2018

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780316396561
  • File size: 19733 KB
  • Release date: February 27, 2018

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state—and ultimately national—glory.
When thousands of Somali refugees resettled in Lewiston, Maine, a struggling, overwhelmingly white town, longtime residents grew uneasy. Then the mayor wrote a letter asking Somalis to stop coming, which became a national story. While scandal threatened to subsume the town, its high school's soccer coach integrated Somali kids onto his team, and their passion began to heal old wounds. Taking readers behind the tumult of this controversial team-and onto the pitch where the teammates become state champions and achieved a vital sense of understanding-ONE GOAL is a timely story about overcoming the prejudices that divide us.

Expand title description text